<< Return to Blog List

KC SmartPort Board Elects 2019 Leadership

by Mary Rooney | Jan 18, 2019

KC SmartPort has elected officers for their 2019 Executive Committee. The Executive Committee will provide guidance and oversight to KC SmartPort as the non-profit economic development organization continues to elevate the Kansas City region as a leading supply chain hub.
The 2019 Executive Committee includes:

  • Erik Hansen, Vice President of Intermodal, Kansas City Southern Railway
  • Al Figuly, President, The Greater Kansas City Foreign Trade Zone
  • Tim Cowden, President & CEO, Kansas City Area Development Council
  • Jim Roy, Senior Regional Vice President, QPS Employment Group
  • Joseph Caldwell, Division Director, Bartlett & West
  • Chris Gutierrez, President, KC SmartPort
  • Elli Bowen, Vice President of Business Development, KC SmartPort

KC SmartPort has also determined 2019 objectives that support the organizations purpose of attracting freight-based companies, such as manufacturing, distribution and warehouses, to the 18 county, bi-state Kansas City region. The main objectives include workforce development, job creation, capital investment, and community engagement.

In 2018, a total of ten freight-based companies choose the Kansas City Market, creating close to 900 jobs and investing nearly $100 million. Read more about KC freight-based recruitment success.

Leave a comment

KC by the Numbers

Brand Toolkit


KC News