Kansas City Area Transportation Authority

The Kansas City Area Transportation Authority (ATA) connects people to opportunities through safe, reliable public transportation. The ATA is a bi-state agency created through enabling legislation in Kansas and Missouri, and with board representation from communities in each state, and authorized through Congressional Compact.

 The ATA is charged with serving the transportation needs of the Kansas City region, covering: Cass, Clay, Jackson and Platte counties in Missouri, and Johnson, Leavenworth and Wyandotte counties in Kansas. The ATA operates its various transit services and programs under the brand name, RideKC, which provides multiple transit choices for regional riders including based upon location, with examples like: Max, Bridj, Share-A-Fare, IndeAccess, and Johnson County’s Special Edition and SWIFT transit options.


Represented By:

Robbie Makinen



Contact Information:

1200 E. 18th Street
Kansas City, MO 64108
(816) 346-0200

Who We Are

Transit Initiatives

News & Events